Food Talk – Dishes for the Post-Holiday Dieter

If you’re like me and you ate like a pig this season, then this post is for you! Here’s basically all the recipes I’ve come up with for the last 4 days, keeping into consideration that while on a diet, only “substantial low-calorie foods” should be consumed. Hey, I’m not just a cook, I’m also a nutritionist, which means absolutely nothing! If I were a dietitian though…

Anyways, I don’t know who came up with the whole “NO LESS THAN 1200 CALORIES A DAY” bullshit. I’ve been eating around 300-600 for the last 4 days and I feel fine. And thus, all my meals have been around 100-200 calories each and made as nutrient-dense as possible. The trick is to keep it 3 ingredients or less, and enjoy the shit out of every bite…

This was also a great way to test out my new artificial lighting setup… my life is going to be so much less stressful thanks to this thing. ;-;

Let’s kick things off with a bit of breakfast~!!! So here we have a hard boiled egg, good protein and B12, also marmite has other B vitamins that help with absorption or something I don’t know I can’t think very well right now. You know marmite is rationed for the British army because of how nutrient dense it is? Or was that vegemite for the Australian army… anyways, vegemite is like the margarine of butter since it’s man-made and not real food, so just eat marmite. Also, sauerkraut is full of vitamin C, which is water soluble so stay hydrated with water by drinking it.

IMG_3736

And for lunch we have a cucumber sandwich~!!! Cucumber is full of vita– actually not really this “meal” was depressing don’t eat it. Also, I don’t even like yellow mustard, but my dijon isn’t in a squeeze bottle so I decided to try yellow and it was a big mistake. Oh well… Also, that is “extra-hot extra-chunky” salsa I’ve got there on the other slice. Salsa is like a god-sent for dieters; full of flavour, and low in calories because it’s basically just vegetables and spices.

IMG_3723

And for dinner, we have… a quarter handful of albums, around 15 grams… Mmm… Normally I drizzle my almonds in honey, but since we’re dieting I ate them with the more nutrient-dense marmite, and I enjoyed it so much it took me 20 minutes to eat it! Please kill me.

IMG_3757

Ohohohoh let’s get ourselves a more delicious dinner with some creamed spinach~!!! Wait, why cream? I thought that was high in calories!

Well it is true that cream is very calorie dense and doesn’t provide very much nutrition on its own, the vitamin A from spinach is fat soluble, and thus YOU NEED SOME FAT IN YOUR DIET, OR ELSE YOUR BODY CANNOT PROCESS YOUR VITAMINS~!!! \(^ω^\)

So half a package of frozen chopped spinach with just a tablespoon of heavy cream = 100 calories. I also got around 2 days worth of vitamin A and a fair amount of iron from this dish alone, plus I enjoyed it, so it was worth it!

IMG_3758

I also saved the water I used to cook the spinach so I could drink some good old spinach tea! Hey, if any of that vitamin A went from the spinach to the water, there was no way I was letting it go to waste!!!

IMG_3766

Here we have some salsa which I mixed with ground flaxseeds. Flaxseeds are full of omega-3 fatty ac– yeah boring. It tastes pretty good though. I used it as a dip for celery sticks and a bell pepper.

IMG_3767

Here we have a recipe which I got from Ellie Krieger, although I did my own twist on it and dipped my chocolate into some chai tea which I mixed with some more of that heavy cream I used for my spinach. Hey, 50 unnecessary calories isn’t going to kill me… right?

By the way, if you haven’t heard; chocolate is good for you. And that’s good news for me because chocolate just so happens to be my third favourite thing in the world next to butter and sour cream! (´・ω・`) What isn’t good for you is the sugar they usually add to chocolate, but this is 90% cocoa! Hardly any sugar at all!

(Also, while I do prefer dark chocolate usually, I also enjoy white, milk, and semi/bittersweet too. I’m not one of those people, I love all chocolate~!!! \(^O^)/)

IMG_3770

Annnd finally we have some butternut squash, which I’ve dry-roasted in the oven. Butternut squash is ridiculously nutrient dense and more importantly it tastes amazing. By the way; vitamin A. You know what that means~? SLATHER THAT BOY IN BUTTER~!!!!!!! ( ꒪Д꒪)ノ

In all seriousness though, I got really bored at this point and decided to do some experimenting… I tried topping it with different fats after dry-roasting, and here’s how I ranked them:

Sour cream > butter > coconut oil > olive oil > lard

Yeah for some reason sour cream makes a great topping for this squash… Then again, is there anything sour cream doesn’t go well on? Well yes: raw carrots and bread.

As for the butter? I threw on a knob, let it melt a bit, bit into it and went to heaven. Everybody told me olive oil would be better, but I just really like butter… (I did however do another experiment later oven-roasting with butter and olive oil, and the one roasted with olive oil did end up tasting better, so I guess olive oil for roasting and butter for topping?)

 

Annnnd we’re done… Tomorrow I’m throwing lard on some bread.

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on January 3, 2016, in Food Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

