Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin soup made from puréed roasted pumpkin and veggies topped with crème fraîche and scallions.

The last recipe of pumpkin season~!!!! ♪((└|o^▽^o|┐))♪

I still had some leftover pumpkin from this pumpkin season, so I decided to give this classic pumpkin soup a pumpkin try.

Well I suppose pumpkin soup is also something you can serve on the holidays as well, but here, fresh pie pumpkins aka sugar pumpkins are no longer in season (and neither are carving pumpkins now that I think about it), so I had to make do with the leftover pumpkin I had in the freezer. Of course, you can use standard canned pumpkin purée for this instead, but I like to make my own stuff.

So pumpkin soup can range from either super light to medium, and it’s pretty much impossible to make it heavy unless you’re some trailer-trash fatty who’s given up on life and just adds a shit ton of heavy cream to everything. But since I’m not, (and I pray you aren’t either) I’m going to be making mine somewhere between light and medium, ideal as a light dinner, or you could serve a smaller portion as an appetizer as well. My version doesn’t use heavy cream as an ingredient, instead I opted for a simple optional topping of crème fraîche and scallion greens. You can use sour cream too… but get the good stuff, none of that “low-fat” garbage. Also, chives are better than scallions so if you’re better than me, use chives. I’d use them too if I had them…

So I guess technically this could be considered a vegan reci– lol jk. Butter. We’re going to be using a bit of butter in this. Just a little, come on~ (´・ω・`)

Ingredients per serving
1/2 cup pumpkin purée, or use a fresh pie/sugar pumpkin
1/4 brown onion
1 celery stalk
1/2 carrot
1 garlic clove, peeled
a drizzle of olive oil for roasting
salt to taste
1 cup chicken or vegetable stock*
1 tbsp honey or maple syrup
1/2 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp ground sage or 1 sage leaf**
1/2 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp rosemary

1 tsp crème fraîche or sour cream to serve, with chopped scallion greens or chives

Steps
1. Preheat oven to 400F. Give all your veggies a rustic chop into bite-sized pieces, leaving the garlic clove whole and toss them with a drizzle of olive oil and a generous shake of salt on a baking tray. Add your pumpkin to the tray; I usually cut them in half, remove the seeds and lay them skin-side-up on the baking tray. Roast veggies and pumpkin for about an hour.***
2. Remove veggies and pumpkin from the oven. Wait for them to cool a little, then scoop out the pumpkin’s insides from the skin and just mash it up a little bit; you don’t need to purée it since we’ll be puréeing it in the soup later. Reserve about 1/2 a cup of the mashed pumpkin per person, storing the rest away in the fridge for later. (You can skip this step if you’re using canned pumpkin purée.)
3. Melt some butter in a saucepan and infuse it with a bit of sage for a few minutes. Add in your roasted veggies and pumpkin purée and give it a good stir. Pour in your stock, honey, thyme and rosemary, then turn the heat up to high and bring it to a boil, then turn the heat back down to low and simmer slightly uncovered for 15 minutes.
4. Remove from heat. Now unless you want a chunky soup, or if you’re just plain lazy, you’re going to want to purée the soup. You could do this in a blender, in batches if necessary, but I like to do it directly in the pot with an immersion/hand blender. Add more stock or water as needed to get the soup to the consistency you want. I like mine ultra smooth, so I added about half a cup to a cup or so more of stock, and just kept blending until it was as smooth as possible.
5. Adjust seasoning, pour into a soup bowl, top with your crème fraîche or sour cream with chopped chives or scallion greens and serve~!! \(^O^)/

Notes:
*Use a cup per serving to start. You may need another cup or so if your soup is too thick, and your additional liquid could also just be plain water. This is mostly optional for aesthetics purposes, but I have a food blog so I needed quite a bit more to get the smooth aesthetics I was going for.
**Sage leaves are definitely better for making sage-infused butter, I just didn’t have them.
***If you’re using canned pumpkin purée, you could just sauté the veggies in a skillet with the olive oil and salt instead and save some time. Either way, I prefer roasting my veggies for this because I think it tastes much better than just plain sautéing.

(creme, fraiche)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on November 30, 2015, in Lunch and Dinner, Original, Snacks & Sides, Vegetarian, Western and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

