Pumpkin Couscous

Steamed couscous and carrots sautéed with diced pumpkin, scallions, and Italian parsley.

I once tried to get my sister to come over so I could teach her how to cook one of my recipes, because I just have this undying urge to teach the world how to cook “Treble-Style”. And it’s also times like this that I wish I could use that Steam emoticon with the sunglasses, so just picture this emoticon right before the period of the sentence before this one.

Anyways… she asked me if I had plans to teach her something “healthy”. And you know what? I just have to ask… WHAT IS “HEALTHY”? ‘Cause to me, if it’s tasty, it’s healthy. 20 years ago people said margarine was a healthier alternative to butter, and it tasted like dogshit and had the texture of playdough. Now they’re saying margarine just so happens to be ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE FOR YOU and that butter is good for you. It also just so happens butter is the 3rd most tastiest thing on the planet. Coincidence? Absolutely not. ʕ´• ᴥ •`ʔ

Somewhere, some American is reading the news that butter is good for you and is proceeding to bite into a stick of butter. Uh, ew… No, that’s not healthy, because you see, biting into a stick of butter doesn’t taste good! Therefore, biting into a stick of butter is not healthy!!! ( ꒪Д꒪)ノ

Anyways, not necessarily for the purpose of appeasing my sister, I just so happened to come up with a recipe during pumpkin season which fad foodies would consider healthy because it has a fair amount of vegetables in it. It’s also healthy in my eyes because it has butter… Optional, of course; refer to the notes for more information on when you should and shouldn’t be adding butter.

Ingredients per serving
1/3 cup dry couscous
1/2 cup water*
1/2 cup diced pumpkin
1/4 cup diced carrots**
2 tbsp scallion whites
1&1/2 tbsp freshly chopped Italian parsley
1 tbsp butter***
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp Chinese-five spice
salt and sugar to taste****

Steps
1. Bring water in a saucepan to a boil with a pinch of salt, or boil water in a kettle, and add in your dry couscous and diced carrot. Cover, remove from heat and let it sit for about 10 minutes or until the couscous absorbs all the water.
2. Melt half of the butter you plan to use with a bit of olive oil in a sauté pan. Sauté the scallion whites on medium until they soften up a little, then add your diced pumpkin. Sauté pumpkin until it is fork-tender. Season with Chinese five-spice, ginger, and salt.
3. Add steamed couscous to the sauté pan, turn the heat up to medium-high, and toast the couscous for a bit to get rid of any excess liquid. I like to stir in the second half of my reserved butter at this point.
4. Mix in some chopped Italian parsley, adjust seasoning and add sugar to taste if necessary.
5. Serve garnished with Italian parsley. Sprinkle on some more Chinese-five spice, ginger, or sugar if needed. Enjoy~~~~~ ⊂(◉‿◉)つ

Notes:
*The amount of water you use is personal preference. The typical couscous to water ratio is 1:1, but I use slightly more water because I like my couscous a little moist and slightly sticky. If you use less water, your couscous will be a little on the drier side, which is good too, it’s just not how I roll.
**I usually just take one big carrot, peel it, cut it in half, dice the thicker half, then snack on the other. (◕‿◕✿)
***If you’re serving this as a side, feel free to exclude the butter and just use more olive oil as needed to sauté properly. But if this is your dinner, the butter will not only add a significant amount of flavour, but it will also make the meal incredibly satiating. Seriously, I’m not even kidding, I almost couldn’t even finish what was on my plate! How often does that happen to me?? Never! Except now! ヽ(*・ω・)ノ
****This helps to bring out the natural sweetness of the pumpkin and carrot. If your pumpkin is really fresh and in season you may not need to add sugar, but mine were frozen, so I added several pinches, perhaps 1/4 to 1/2 a tsp?

And no, I ended up not teaching my sister anything. I’m honestly sick of people who are only interested in cooking with whatever is currently trending as a “healthier alternative to…” etc. Fuck the scientists, just eat tasty stuff and you’ll live forever. That was Julia Child’s motto, and she lived to be 91.

Also, Japan and France are currently the two countries with the most Michelin stars… they also happen to be among the countries with the highest average life expectancies…

… just saying. (´・ω・`)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on November 26, 2015, in Lunch and Dinner, Original, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

