Sweet Potato Poutine

Sweet potato fries topped with onion gravy and feta cheese.

Oh Canada… My home, and the native land of the infamous dish known as the poutine. Fries, gravy, cheese curds, delicious… And ridiculously heavy, but that’s why it’s delicious. (¬‿¬)

Since I pretty much never eat anything that I don’t make myself (mainly because of my hatred for canola oil and the fact that everything cooked anywhere besides my kitchen is deep-fried in canola oil) and I love the taste of poutine, I decided to learn how to make it myself, which is pretty damn simple, and my version just so happens to be healthier and more nutritious because of my preference for sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. (´・ω・`) Also, I have no idea how to make cheese curds homemade, so I just use feta cheese, and I’m too lazy to make turkey gravy, so I just use onion gravy~!!! \(^O^)/

Don’t be put off by the weird colours; the gravy is purplish because of the dijon mustard. This isn’t a normal poutine; it’s my sweet potato poutine. My recipe, not yours. If you want it less purple, don’t use dijon mustard, use Worcestershire sauce instead, but it doesn’t taste as good, so I don’t. ⊂((・▽・))⊃

Is it as tasty as the poutines you get at fast food places or cheap diners? Psh, infinitely so. Better than the poutines you’d get at a 4-star steakhouse? Yes, I think so. Everything homemade is tastier! :D

Ingredients per serving
cheese*
1 medium sized sweet potato (about 350g)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt/pepper to taste

1/2 yield 1 onion’s worth of onion gravy
1 large onion
200ml beef stock
100ml red wine
1 tbsp all-purpose flour
1 tsp dijon mustard (I sometimes use Worcestershire sauce instead because dijon really discolours it)
salt/pepper to taste
1/2 tbsp peanut oil
1 tbsp butter

Steps
1. Since this dish is best served warm and fresh, I’d recommend starting off by making the onion gravy; get the onions on the pan and start browning them. While this is going on, chop up your sweet potato(es) and make fries.
2. Try to finish the fries and gravy at the same time. Otherwise, heat up the gravy in the microwave for 30 seconds to a minute. Crumble, grate or chop your cheese up into chunks, toss it on your fries, pour on your hot gravy, hope the cheese melts a little, and serve! (´・ω・`)

Steps for the gravy:
1. Heat butter and oil on medium heat just until the butter starts foaming, then cook julienned onion until translucent.
2. Stir in flour until evenly coated on onions.
3. Reduce heat to low and cook occasionally mixing for 30 minutes, or until onions have a nice brown colour.
4. Raise heat to medium-high and pour in wine and cook until completely reduced.
5. Add in beef stock, bring to a simmer, reduce heat to low and cook stirring occasionally for 20 minutes, or until desired thickness. (Much less than desired thickness if you choose to use dijon mustard, since the mustard will thicken it up heavily)
6. Remove from heat and gently stir in dijon mustard or Worcestershire sauce. Stir in more beef stock or water if the gravy thickens up too much. Season with salt/pepper to taste.

Steps for the fries:
1. Chop up sweet potatoes into fries, or chips. Peel them if you’d like, but I recommend leaving the skin on.
2. Add slices to bowl and mix with spices + olive oil until evenly coated.
3. Preheat oven to anywhere from 425F to 500F. Lower temperatures will yield softer fries while higher temperatures will result in more crispiness.
4. Add slices to an oiled baking sheet or a wired rack** and cook for 20-40 minutes, or until they’re as crispy as you want them. Flip them halfway through the cooking process.

Notes:
*I normally use feta cheese, but only because our fridge always contains a container of feta since it preserves really well. When I have a fresher cheese on hand, I’ll always use that instead because feta doesn’t melt very well. I recommend cheddar, mozzarella, gruyère, hell even parmigiano might work. If you’re using feta, use about 75g. Most other cheeses would be around 40g, depending on how cheesey you want your poutine. (´・ω・`)
**If you’re using a wired rack, you won’t need to flip them and they’re less likely to burn.

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on November 2, 2015, in Grain & Starch, Lunch and Dinner, Original and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

