Hot Fudge Sundae

Hot Fudge Sundae

I did it. I gave into my chocolate cravings induced by Deanna Troi’s hot fudge chocolate ice cream ritual and made a hot fudge sundae, completely from scratch. Several, actually. Probably around… 9 or so? Don’t worry; I didn’t eat them all in one sitting, but I kept making them throughout the course of a little less than a month or so until I got a good picture. Thankfully ice cream, chocolate syrup, sour cream, and frozen cherries last for quite a long time in the fridge and freezer. The real issue was waiting for a good afternoon at about 11:00AM when the sun is nice and bright allowing me to get some good lighting. (◕‿◕✿)

I ended up serving my mother quite a few sundaes as a result, and shouting out obscenities very loudly because the god damn chocolate syrup kept melting the god damn ice cream ruining my shot. The stress of having a food blog…

In the end, I never got a “perfect” picture, but I decided the one above was “good enough.” Sometimes you gotta know when to quit… and getting the perfect picture of a homemade hot fudge sundae simply wasn’t good for my mental health, or my weight. ʕ´• ᴥ •`ʔ

So I’m going to teach you how to make an easy hot fudge sundae with vanilla ice cream completely from scratch in the comfort of your own home~!!! \(^O^)/

Ingredients

For the ice cream: (NO ICE CREAM MACHINE NEEDED!!!)
300ml sweetened condensed milk
450ml heavy cream (35% milkfat or more)
1 tbsp vanilla extract

(If you have an ice cream machine, follow this recipe here. I haven’t tried it, but I like it based on its ingredients.)

For the hot fudge/ chocolate syrup:
3/4 cup sugar
1&1/2 tbsp flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1&1/4 cups milk or water
2 tbsp (28g) butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
a pinch of salt

For the whipped cream topping:
50ml heavy cream
1/2 tsp powdered sugar
OR
1 tsp sour cream (:D)

A cherry for garnish. Please use real cherries, none of those glaze cherries you find in the baking section of the grocery store. That’s not real food. ⊂((・▽・))⊃

Steps
I basically stole and slightly modified the no-machine ice cream and hot fudge/chocolate syrup recipes from SimpleCookingChannel and Food Wishes, respectively. So make ice cream, then make chocolate fudge. Use my slightly modified ingredient list if you want, and yes, I used water instead of milk for the syrup and it worked just as well. For the whipped cream, I really did just use sour cream and yes, it was very tasty. But since not everybody is weird, just whip up some heavy cream with powdered sugar (1 cup cream to 1 tbsp unsifted powdered sugar for good ratio) and you’ll have your traditional whipped cream topping.

In order to present this correctly, you’re going to have to work quickly. I shall present you my method under the assumption that your ice cream is presently in the freezer and your chocolate sauce in your fridge. Listen to me, follow my instructions to the dot, and you shall have a beautiful hot fudge sundae.

(You may not need to do this if your chocolate sauce is fresh, but mine wasn’t, and it was way too thick after cooling in the fridge, so this is the kind of shit I had to put up with.)

1. Remove chocolate sauce from fridge. Spoon the portion of sauce you want to use into a microwave-safe cup, and heat it up for no more than 30 seconds.
2. If it’s too thick and doesn’t ooze, mix it up with just a very tiny splash of water, but don’t let it get too liquidy or else it’ll just slide right off the ice cream. We want it to slowly ooze off and slightly solidify when it makes contact with the cold ice cream. If you do make it too liquidy, just mix in some more cold syrup. No need to microwave again.
3. Remove the ice cream from the freezer. Let it sit at room temperature for a minute or two so you can scoop out some nice scoops without having to grunt your way in there with the spoon.
4. Get a generous portion of ice cream. Get your whipped cream, sauce, and cherry ready.
5. Now, spoon over the chocolate sauce slowwllyyy. Make it look niiiccceee.
6. Top with your whipped cream using a spoon, doing a nice turn when you lift off to give it that twisty look to it. Chef John shows you how. (If you’re using sour cream like I am, make sure you’re using a very small spoon because sour cream is heavy and it’ll likely slide off the ice cream because of the syrup. Come to think of it, if I were to just use whipped cream I probably wouldn’t have had so much god damn trouble getting a good picture in the first place. My love for sour cream is ruining my life. ;-;)
7. Top with the cherry, and SERVE THAT THING BEFORE THE SAUCE MELTS THE ICE CREAM COMPLETELY WHAT ARE YOU DOING NO– GET THE PICTURE QUICK– NOOOOOOOO YOU RUINED IT EVERYTHING IS TERRIBLE LIFE IS TERRIBLE YOU’RE TERRIBLE AND YOU HAVE NO FRIENDS GO TO YOUR ROOM AND CRY.
8. Wait no– serve the sundae, then go to your room.

This post is arguably dumber than that of my chocolate fondue recipe…

And now, the gallery of shame…

 

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on November 2, 2015, in Dessert, Eggs & Dairy, Original and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

