Körözött (Liptauer)

Spicy cheese spread.

(Pronunciation: Kuh-ruh-zuht)

Körözött, liptauer, spicy cheese spread, whatever the fuck you call it, this is körözött, a spicy Hungarian cheese spread typically served with bell peppers, chips, or as a bread spread for an open-sandwich. Perfect for a quick morning breakfast combined with a cup of coffee or tea! (´・ω・`)

Now I’m a continental-European-sweet-carbohydrates-for-breakfast kind of person, but on the weekends, when I cook breakfast for my mother (who’s more keen on an English-style breakfast), I’ll usually whip up some protein, which is usually an egg dish of sorts. Until I discovered kör– actually my mom doesn’t like körözött so I only make it for myself. ;-;

So basically every Hungarian family is supposed to have their own super-secret körözött recipe, and since my mother doesn’t have one it’s once again down to me!!! So here’s körözött, the way I like it!!! \(^ω^\)

So yeah, eat it on a sandwich, use it as a dip for some chips, toast, or bell peppers. It’s good.

Ingredients
500g pressed cottage cheese*
400g sour cream**
1 brown onion
2 garlic cloves
1 tbsp paprika
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp ground caraway
salt to taste

Steps
(Optional) 1. A trick I learnt while staging at a restaurant for getting the most out of your caraway (and cumin): toast it briefly in a pan before grinding. Don’t worry, it’ll be the only part in the recipe that remotely resembles cooking! (´・ω・`)
2. Break up cottage cheese into a bowl. Mix in finely diced onion, minced cloves, sour cream, and all seasoning and then taste for salt/pepper. Let set in the fridge for 3 hours or overnight to let the flavours develop.
3. Spread onto a sandwich or something with bell pepper, cucumbers, tomatoes, ham, cucumbers, and enjoy!

Notes:
*In Hungary this is done with quark cheese, but that’s difficult to find outside of Hungary, so we’ll be using dry, pressed cottage cheese. Although any dry curdy cheese would do.
**Some people use butter instead of sour cream, and as much as I like butter, I like sour cream just a little more~!!! (´・ω・`) (Also I think it’s more common in Hungary to use sour cream anyway.)

IMG_9218IMG_9236

(korozott, korozot)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on October 26, 2015, in Dips & Sauces, Eggs & Dairy, Hungarian. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

