Food Talk – IT’S PUMPKIN SEASON!!!

Homemade pumpkin pie!

Homemade pumpkin pie!

IT’S AUTUMN, OR FALL IF YOU’RE AMERICAN~!!! \(^O^)/

A rose by any other name, it’s the season of pumpkins, honeycrisp apples, pomegranates, butternut squash, and pretty much all my favourite things~!!! \(^ω^\)

So this autumn I’m taking a break from Hungarian foods and focusing on experimenting with pumpkins and pomegranates, my two favourite foods in the world besides sour cream, butter, chocolate, paprika, lard, veal, lamb, beef, honey, kolbasz…

So anyway, pomegranates are my favourite fruit. And I’ve been waiting for pumpkins to come out ever since I got into cooking, which was about 5 months ago. The fact that autumn only comes once a year is pretty depressing, honestly. I have too little time to try all these pumpkiny dishes… o(╥﹏╥)o

But in the meantime, I’d like to share what I’ve been cooking as of late, and the stuff I’ve come up with!

Tökgaluska (Pumpkin Spätzle/Dumpling/Gnocchi/Egg noodle)

My first idea was to mix in fresh, homemade pumpkin purée with spätzle noodle batter instead of water. Here’s the evolution of this dish:

So for the final dish:

I sautéed some diced pumpkin with olive oil and butter (because I couldn’t decide, so I just used both) seasoning them with Chinese five-spice, ginger, salt and pepper. Then I took my dumplings straight out of the boiling water that I cooked them in (I also added some nutmeg to the batter) and threw them into the pan with the pumpkin, cooking until they absorbed all those delicious spices. ⊂(◉‿◉)つ

Then I topped with the usual, and a pinch of cinnamon. It was really tasty!!! ( ^_^)/

Pumpkin Risotto

I know I said I hated risotto awhile back, but that was before I knew how to make it. Now, I can honestly say, I LOVE RISOTTO!!! \(^O^)/

So it was only natural that I attempt a pumpkin risotto this pumpkin season. (´・ω・`)

Yep. Sour cream in risotto. Trust me, I’m Hungarian. ʕ´• ᴥ •`ʔ

Pumpkin Congee

Pumpkin Congee

Boiled some rice with water and diced pumpkin with cloves and cinnamon thinking the pumpkin would start to fall apart after 30 minutes, and I was wrong, so I stirred in some homemade pumpkin purée to thicken it up and give the broth some pumpkin flavour. It had a really mild taste until I stirred in a heaping tablespoon of sour cream. (´・ω・`)

I do not plan to continue work on this dish anymore. Although if anybody else wants to try this, try using chicken stock instead of water. Water made it taste like nothing. ;-;

Pumpkin Pie

What thanksgiving dinner is complete without a pumpkin pie? (´・ω・`)

Actually I made this the week after thanksgiving dinner, since my sister wanted to do the pie. Gave it to my mother’s office and told them it was her who baked it. Oh yes, I’m loved. ( ̄▽ ̄)

I followed Chef John’s recipe, because Chef John is best chef. Although I used homemade pie crust and pumpkin purée, and I also topped it with something that isn’t whipped cream instead of whipped cream. (´・ω・`) This was also my first ever pie, and I did it 100% from scratch! And in a cake pan too because we didn’t have a pie pan! \(^O^)/

Pumpkin Chips

Pumpkin Chips

Here we got some pumpkin chips; I basically took the skin off the roasting pumpkin when it started to get loose and I sliced it up, spiced it with Chinese five-spice, salt/pepper and a shake of cayenne, then put it back in the oven until it got a little crispier, then I ate it with dijon mustard! Hey I didn’t use sour cream this time!!! :D

In retrospect though, I probably should’ve; dijon mustard can’t satisfy me the way sour cream can…

Pomegranate Chocolate Porridge

Currently a work in progress. The idea was to cook some oats in water, then stir in some pomegranate seeds which have been blitz’d in a mini blender, then fold in some dark chocolate off the heat and let it melt, garnishing with the remainder of the pomegranate seeds. Tasty, but I still haven’t gotten the perfect picture yet.

Sooo that’s all for now. I still have to try a pumpkin soup, a pomegranate tart, and maybe a pumpkin flavoured chocolate cake of sorts. I have until the end of November… wish me luck.

 

If anybody wants a full recipe for the completed dishes (currently just tökgaluska and pumpkin risotto), let me know and I’ll post them earlier than I had planned to. (´・ω・`)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on October 24, 2015, in Food Talk. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

