Onion Gravy

Homemade onion gravy!

Not my recipe since I’ve never made gravy before this, but I figured it was something I had to learn eventually anyway.

Originally I wanted a gravy that I could drizzle on some homemade baked fries so I could experience the taste of poutine again without worrying about extra calories had I gotten the fries deep-fried from Harveys or Fish & Chips (worth every calorie, by the way). Also, a friend that can make poutines? Who wouldn’t love me?!! But since there’s no way I was going to buy an entire animal just to make gravy, I went with a more economic onion gravy instead. (´・ω・`) So here’s the best onion gravy recipe I could find, although if you got a better one, please leave it in the comment section~!

Video recipe here, by Original Naked Chef. The recipe will still be written here, for convenience, and also because this recipe is an ingredient in some of my other recipes. ⊂(◉‿◉)つ

Ingredients
1 large onion
200ml beef stock
100ml red wine
1 tbsp all-purpose flour
1 tsp dijon mustard (I sometimes use Worcestershire sauce instead because dijon really discolours it)
salt/pepper to taste
1/2 tbsp peanut oil
1 tbsp butter

Steps
1. Heat butter and oil on medium heat just until the butter starts foaming, then cook julienned onion until translucent.
2. Stir in flour until evenly coated on onions.
3. Reduce heat to low and cook occasionally mixing for 30 minutes, or until onions have a nice brown colour.
4. Raise heat to medium-high and pour in wine and cook until completely reduced.
5. Add in beef stock, bring to a simmer, reduce heat to low and cook stirring occasionally for 20 minutes, or until desired thickness. (Much less than desired thickness if you choose to use dijon mustard, since the mustard will thicken it up heavily)
6. Remove from heat and gently stir in dijon mustard or Worcestershire sauce. Stir in more beef stock or water if the gravy thickens up too much. Season with salt/pepper to taste.
7. Pour into gravy boat and serve on Bangers & Mash, Poutine, or whatever else goes well with gravy~! (´・ω・`)

Notes:
Dijon mustard reeeallllyy thickens up the gravy and made my first batch look gross.

In the main picture I reduced the amount of dijon (I think I added too much out of excitement because I love dijon) and reduced the gravy much less before adding the mustard, which seemed to help the texture but not the colour. So for aesthetic purposes, I experimented using Worcestershire sauce instead.

Also, I literally bought a gravy boat just so I could take this picture. Damn right I’m dedicated to these pictures. ʕ´• ᴥ •`ʔ

This time it came out too liquidy, and didn’t adhere to my potatoes at all. So I suppose if you are to use Worcestershire sauce, you’ll want to reduce the gravy more, and perhaps sprinkle in more flour if you can’t get it thick enough.

Also I’d like to add that since the exact measurements of wine and beef stock vary on the size of your onion, I do tend to eyeball it instead of pulling out the measuring cups, so I recommend doing that too. (◕‿◕✿)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on October 6, 2015, in Dips & Sauces, Vegetarian, Western and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

