Cazíki

Hungarian style tzatziki; with sour cream instead of Greek yogurt and a heaping spoonful of paprika.

Hungarian style tzatziki; with sour cream instead of Greek yogurt and a heaping spoonful of paprika.

(Pronunciation: Tsa-ZEE-kee)

Similar to the Greek sauce known as tzatziki, this is what happens when you teach a Hungarian how to make tzatziki and then leave them to butcher Greek recipes! (´・ω・`) Its taste can only be described as a richer, sweeter and/or slightly spicier tzatziki, but I’m not going to go as far as to say that it’s better than tzatziki because that would make every overly proud Greek teenager furious!

So this is just something I came up with when trying to come up with a good side for tojásos nokedli, since egg-infused noodles by themselves are kind of, well, dry and boring? A cucumber salad (uborkasaláta) mixed with sour cream is the general side dish, but I like being cute so I decided to grate the cucumber instead of slicing it and stir it into an entire 500g container of sour cream and then add in a little salt, pepper, and paprika. It failed the initial taste-test with those ingredients alone, so I just kept adding stuff until it tasted good, and at that point it was pretty much identical to my tzatziki recipe with a few minor differences. So making tzatziki wasn’t my plan from the start, that’s just the direction my palate took me. It seems my tongue is somewhat in accordance with the Greeks. (´・ω・`)

The name? Oh it’s basically just the phonetic Hungarian spelling of the Westernized pronunciation of “tzatziki”. ⊂((・▽・))⊃

Ingredients
2 cups sour cream
1 cucumber
juice from half a lemon (I haven’t tried vinegar with this specifically, but it should work too)
Seasoning
4 garlic cloves
cilantro/parsley/dill/mint* (as much as you like)
salt and pepper to taste
1-2 tbsp paprika**

Steps
1. Add sour cream into your mixing bowl.
2. Peel cucumber, then grate it and drain as much liquid from it as you as you can.
3. Mix cucumber with a pinch of salt and let sit for 10-15 minutes.
4. Dump shredded cucumber onto a paper towel or cloth and squeeze until the shreds are as dry as you can make them.
5. Mix cucumber shreds with sour cream.
6. (optional) Add juice from half a lemon, squeezing over a strainer or using a lemon squeezer. The purpose is to not get any seeds in with the sour cream… Sometimes I like to say things that are obvious. (◕‿◕✿)
7. Add minced garlic, paprika, chopped cilantro/dill/parsley/mint, and salt and pepper. Taste and adjust, as always.
8. Let sit in the fridge for 3-4 hours before serving (24 hours for best results) to let flavours develop.
9. Serve with rántott hús, tojásos nokedli, or anything not sweet that you’d usually top with sour cream! (´・ω・`)

Notes:
Writing this recipe was pretty easy; all I did was copy and paste the tzatziki recipe and replaced “Greek yogurt” with “sour cream” and “olive oil” with “paprika”. Now having said that, don’t add olive oil to this; the sour cream is already rich enough, it doesn’t need the extra fat. ( ̄▽ ̄)

*For some reason I don’t think dill would work here. I have a thing for cilantro so I used that and I only ever made this dip once, but I’d imagine dill, sour cream, and paprika to be a combination that just seems plain wrong. I originally didn’t even want to add an herb but my taste buds kept screaming at me to do so… You could try with dill and let me know if it’s any good, but if it isn’t, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

**Hey, did you know that there are different kinds of paprika? Yep, the most common paprika and the one you probably have in your pantry is a sweet variant, which works well with this recipe. Any variant will “do”, but of course, if you have access to other variants you may want to experiment and switch it up depending on what you’re serving this with.

(caziki, caciki, tsaziki, tsatsiki, uborka, salata, uborkasalata, rantott, rantot, hus, tojasos, toyasos, toyashosh, tojashosh)

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on September 6, 2015, in Dips & Sauces, Eggs & Dairy, Original and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

