Flax Pudding

Pudding made from ground flaxseeds topped with sour cream, cinnamon, and a drizzle of honey.

A little something I came up with after getting the idea to make flax pudding the same way I make semolina pudding. I figured it would thicken up the same way, and I was right. Woo. I had to add in cocoa powder and honey to make it taste good though. (´・ω・`)

Disclaimer: I’m not a vegan, nor am I a bodybuilder/dieter who thinks flaxseeds are going to make me any healthier than I already am. I used to be like that though, which is why I still have flaxseeds in my pantry… I just wanted to get rid of them, okay? o(╥﹏╥)o

Other disclaimer: No, I’m not saying flax isn’t extremely good for you. I know it’s full of omega-3s, but guess what, I bought mine pre-ground. Does that upset you? Look at all that omega-3 spilling out and being wasted. I bet this angers you greatly, and your displeasure is my pleasure. (◕‿◕✿)

Ingredients per serving
4 tbsp flaxseeds
1 cup milk*
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

To serve:
1 tbsp crème fraîche (sour cream or Greek yogurt work too)
a pinch of cinnamon
1 tbsp honey

Steps
1. Grind your flaxseeds if they aren’t already ground.
2. Combine milk and ground flaxseeds with the salt and cocoa powder in a pot set to high-heat, stirring occasionally until the mixture starts bubbling.
3. Turn heat down to medium-low and stir in your sugar.
4. You’ll want to continue cooking for awhile, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes or so until the mixture gets nice and thick.
5. Remove from heat, pour into a serving bowl and serve immediately, or chill in fridge for 30 minutes.
6. Top with a dollop of crème fraîche, sour cream or Greek Yogurt, a pinch of cinnamon, and a generous drizzle of honey.

Notes:
*Normally I do this with homemade almond milk, but I’ve done this with whole milk before and it was about 10x more delicious. Didn’t even need as much crème fraîche.

Last disclaimer: Bodybuilders, please don’t hurt me. I was just kidding. ;-;

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on August 19, 2015, in Breakfast, Original, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

