Tartare Sauce

Homemade tartar sauce!

Homemade tartar sauce!

So ignoring what happened when I tried deep-frying last Friday, I actually learnt a really tasty tartare/tartar sauce recipe that day! (´・ω・`) This thing goes great with French fries, my sweet potato fries recipe, maybe as dip for certain veggies like celery, but for God’s sake, don’t eat this by itself. There’s a reason it’s called a “sauce” and not a “meal”. My mother, who clearly has no idea how to eat, started eating it by itself thinking that that’s a reasonable thing to do, and then a few bites in she started making excuses for why she wasn’t enjoying it. “It’s different from last time.” she said. “You tried something new.” she said. No, mom, it’s literally the exact same sauce. The only difference is that you’re not eating it with fish & chips, you’re eating it by the spoonful. That’s not how you eat it. Jesus Christ… I’m actually kind of angry now. Going to scream into my pillow before I continue writing this…

I don’t feel any better. I am still legitimately upset. Okay, I guess I’m going to have to get straight to the point and skip the emoticons this time…

Ingredients
1 cup of mayonnaise, or a combination of 1 cup greek yogurt + 1 tbsp dijon mustard
1/2 white onion, diced
1&1/2 tbsp capers, roughly chopped
2 tbsp dill gherkins/pickles, minced
2 tbsp of vinegar from the pickle jar
1 tbsp finely chopped herb of choice, could be parsley, cilantro, dill or mint
salt/pepper to taste, I use about 3 tsp of pepper and about 1 tsp of salt

Steps
1. Chop the stuff up and then mix it all together in a bowl.
2. Taste and adjust.
3. Chill in fridge overnight to let flavours develop before serving.

Notes:
Taste and adjust. Seriously. I ended up having to chop up another gherkin, adding another tbsp of vinegar (and don’t be afraid to use the vinegar from a pickle jar, it really does work), throwing in a couple more capers, and mixing in another glop of dijon mustard before I decided it was tasty enough. If all else fails, add more salt. Salt makes things tasty, that’s a fact.

A little bit iffy on trying out the greek yogurt and dijon mustard combination? Just trust me, it works. Most people won’t be able to tell the difference.

About Chef Treble

Feed me weird things.

Posted on August 10, 2015, in Dips & Sauces, Vegetarian, Western and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

